New Semester and New Scenery

So I’m on a train furiously trying to catch up on all my missed blogs. Here goes nothing.

IMG_1976 IMG_1975 IMG_2003
This past Monday was spent recovering from a 9 day travel venture. We all pretended to study for our upcoming exams but in an effort to procrastinate 3 of us ended up going out for wine night followed by a session of hair dying.

My hair is now a lovely shade of burgundy and magenta. Breaking news: Rachel is now bringing all the Italian boys the the yard by attracting them with purple hair and a lovely shade of paper white skin. It’s a beautiful combo, really.

After that I decided I had way too much time on my hands and that instead of getting a good grade in my marketing class I should spend an hour switching rooms with my friend so that I’m now in a single dorm room. That happened.

  IMG_1980

Tuesday was my “big day”. We started our new class, survey of art and architecture. I’m not sure what I expected but it definitely wasn’t what I got on Tuesday. To start with our Roman professor was an Italian turned California PhD dude with bare feet. I instantly took a liking to him because he embraced the controversial and asked that we really think about what we’re trying to communicate. He went around and asked us what our favorite piece of art was in Rome so far and every time anyone gave a cop out answer or “it’s beautiful/interesting” or any “insert vague terminology here” he would challenge the speaker to figure out why it was interesting, beautiful, and so on. He asked me what I wanted to be when I was older and I told him my immediate plan was the Peace Corps. We got to talking and he was asking about my plans for my career. What I liked the most is that the big question he posed to me was not how I would help other countries but how they would help me. This is definitely a professor I’m going to enjoy.

After class I promise I had ambitious plans to study. I really did. But then Renoli poked her head in my new room and invited me to read over notes in Villa Borghese, one of my new favorite places in the whole world. So we went! It was a beautiful day and we sat on the grass.. And proceeded to talk about how study abroad has changed our perspective on life in general and ourselves personally.  I got to share how study abroad has completely altered my ranking system in life. Most notably my relationship and attitude toward institutions like government, my church, and my education. We then talked about social responsibility and why we felt called to do things in our lives.. So basically my Marketing exam just kept on taking a back seat to the more important things in the world!

IMG_1987 IMG_2002

After our talk we both sat atop a wall that overlooked a bed of trees and we had a beautiful view of Rome. Definitely one of my most favorite afternoons in recent memory just because I missed having conversations like that, which I became accustomed to back in Gainesville.

Since I was on a roll with the whole procrastination thing when I heard there was a community service projects of sorts I was so down. We went downstairs and helped make dinner bags with sandwiches and an apple. Then we went out into the streets and distributed the food to anyone who looked homeless or hungry.

Wow. I have never done this before but the first woman we went up to was crouched low over a cup, silently pleading with anyone to stop and help. I have walked past these people every day of my life. I get uncomfortable, I debate whether to give them money, I don’t want to look at their eyes in case they call me out for my self absorption. But we looked this woman in the eye when she glanced up at us and when we gave her the sandwich and we made eye contact, she was suddenly very, very human. And I felt like I was missing that connection when I walked past these people every day. As we walked away we all looked back because she had taken the dirty edge of the shirt she was wearing to wipe away tears. It was the most eye-opening thing that bringing a woman a shabby nutella sandwich was enough to make someone emotional and something we are directly in a position to change, at least for a moment.

That night we must have only spent an hour in total making and distributing the food but it absolutely altered my view of the homeless. My sister, Kara, has always been the advocate for the homeless back in Gainesville but I’ve always preferred looking at international aid or more removed poverty alleviation tactics. Kara has always been the one at the food shelters during the week and in her spare time but in the past I’ve always been mildly uncomfortable in those settings.

After our trip out in the streets I ran into a supermarket and grabbed a thing of Nutella and sandwich bread and a few of us decided to start bringing a couple of sandwiches around with us when we went back on the streets during the days. This morning (Thursday) we stopped by a man who is always sitting by our school who I have always struggled with looking at despite the fact that every day, without fail, he calls out “Ciao Bella” — Michelle bent over and gave him the sandwich and at the sight of it the man clapped twice and opened his mouth with brittle looking teeth and starting pouring out thanks. This man suddenly transformed in my eyes from an old, worn out looking street accessory into a person that deserved to be cared for and spoken to. And I am sitting here wondering how I could allowed myself to have missed this!

After such a thought provoking day it was fun to go out with some new Australian friends to Campo di Fiori, a large outdoor piazza, to watch the Brazil Germany game compete in the semi finals.. That was possibly the most painful thing I have ever witnessed as far as sports goes. I will leave that topic to the rest of the general public. I watched my new friends bargain with a street vendor for his megaphone, shook hands with a dog, and protected said dog from getting stolen from a stranger who tried to take her from her owner. It was a pretty fun night.

 IMG_1991 IMG_1992 IMG_1996

On Wednesday we started really experiencing our art and architecture class. Since we only have 3 days a week of class and only 4 weeks our professor has generously decided to host our lectures on the spot.. Meaning every Monday-Wednesday we go to a new place in Rome and learn about its rich history and structure. No big deal.

We went to the aqueducts! I was reminded again of why I liked my professor, Ferro, so much. Although he talked about the aqueducts themselves and the structure of them he also discussed the social costs of creating such a monument (aqueducts preserved in a national park). He mentioned that in order to create the park they had to evacuate and relocate 10,000 residents who had created homes for themselves under the structures of the aqueducts during a time of a severe economic depression in Italy. It was a sad reminder that art is not just meant for admiration but that monuments had significance to people and that preserving them might have meant stripping people of their access to the monuments.

IMG_1999   IMG_2006

I ended the night by going to a sale at brandy Melville. Marketing notes were nowhere in site. T minus 1 day until the worst exam of my life.

Stay tuned to see if I’ll be dropping out of college and bumming it in Europe indefinitely or if I’m going back to the grind in Gainesville come August.

Leave a comment