Books for the Plane!

For the lovely plane ride I can’t seem to shut up about I’ve picked a couple of books I think would help me make it through the long haul.

eatpray  houseleaves  allegiant  lean

I don’t even feel bad for admitting that Elizabeth Gilbert initially sparked my interest in travel and Italy. She definitely romanticized Italy and the other places she went to but hey, it’s her book. I know she received a lot of negative backlash for divorcing her husband and deciding to leave her conventional lifestyle in favor of her own happiness, but I loved her book and admire Gilbert for doing what she thought she needed to do. I’ve read this book once before but I think it’s only appropriate to re-read it en route to Italy.

I’ve read a little bit about House of Leaves. I don’t know too much about this book, only that it’s a cult favorite. It sounds like one of those books that , even if an uncomfortable read, will be captivating. Which is important on a 10 hour flight. I looked through some of the pages and it is by far the most unique writing style I’ve come across; the author uses footnotes within footnotes and breaks the page up in writing chunks.. I look forward to getting my hands on a copy.

I’m a shameless YA fan. I’m finishing up the Divergent trilogy and I have Allegiant lined up in my Kindle queue.. All I can say on this book is that it better end well because Tris deserves a happy ending.

So a horror, YA, and a memoir would be incomplete without a “self help” book. You’ve probably heard of the book “Lean In” by the author Sheryl Sandberg, the woman who kicks butt in the tech industry. She’s an advocate for women in the work place and writes about the challenges and hurdles women will face when entering into any career and she offers strategies for overcoming these obstacles. This is at the top of my list!

So those are the books I’m interested in reading either on the plane ride or in the weeks leading up to my trip. Do you have any book suggestions?