The Details

So approximately 3 days ago I learned about all the different reasons this summer is going to be better than the one summer I spent hanging out in my backyard or the summers spent babysitting 10 different families and walking 3 high-energy dogs. 

I went to my pre-departure session my school requires us to attend and I heard from two guys who had gone to Rome in previous semesters and spoke with an advisor who oversees our program. For starters – the drinking age in Rome is 18. I’m not saying this because I’m one of the kids in college who already drink and am looking forward to the easy access.. the reality is that I’m terrified of breaking laws and I’m so excited to go somewhere that has “suggestions” as opposed to stringent rules and regulations. I’m looking forward to being able to enjoy a glass of wine and feel adult-esque for the next 3 months.

Another thing that sounded a lot like a Lizzie McGuire movie was the fact that I will be taking Italian 1 and am being encouraged to go out and actually apply my newfound language ability in the streets of Rome. This is simultaneously terrifying and exciting. I’ve never actually learned a language, unless you count the one year of spanish I took, which I don’t. I don’t know the first thing about learning a language and the farthest I’ve got in preparing for Italian is going through lesson 1 in Rosetta Stone. So this is probably going to be both the hardest and most rewarding challenge of this trip. 

My geek moment came when we received our official schedules for the classes we are enrolled in. I’m taking Survey of Art and Architecture, Italian 1, and Principles of Management. The way it’s set up is that I will be taking Management online through my home university and I will take the other two through the school I’m attending in Rome. The first one will be Italian and will be for the first 6 weeks. Then it switches to Survey of Art and Architecture, at which point the city becomes my new classroom! I cannot begin to express my excitement for my art class. At the beginning of this year my mentor through the Catholic Church had me read a book that analyzed a painting of the prodigal son parable in the Bible. For the first time in my life I was prompted to consider art as a form of education in and of itself and I am so grateful for this opportunity to learn more about the historical art and architecture that is everywhere in Italy! 

The last thing that has gotten me the most excited about this upcoming journey was meeting my peers that would be traveling with me. The program is small, with under 15 students participating. I anticipate getting to know these girls and guys better and from what I’ve heard from my brother’s abroad experience in spain and my friends who have traveled elsewhere, it’s the new relationships that make these trips so memorable!

Tomorrow I hope to write a little bit more about Haiti because as a part of this summer’s travel plans, I’m going to Haiti from May 3-11. When I first traveled to Haiti I realized how incredibly important it is to me to expose myself to cultures vastly different from the western comfort I’m accustomed to. For the past two years I’ve visited a small mountainous village called St. Suzanne and this year I’m excited to visit Jacmel! 

 

Leave a comment